top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeborah Valentine

When It Feels All Hope is Lost...


In one's history with God there are times He will remarkably perform a sign in order to send a message. This is one such time...


Up to my chest in the salty ocean water of Clear Water Beach, I forced myself to be in the moment with my family. It was our 2017 summer vacation. Through my sunglasses, I looked into the laughing eyes of my two youngest boys. One arm tightly wrapped around each son, we jumped the oncoming waves.


Struggling with the heaviness of discouragement, over the past weeks, I felt like giving up. There were a number of things that I had been fervently contending for in prayer. These were promises I felt that God had given to us that were not happening---as far as I could see. I was growing weary. The wait had been long. I was not seeing even a glimpse of what I was hoping for.


The waves were coming harder and higher. An enormous one crashed over our heads. I squeezed my boys tightly as neither one could swim. We came up for air, eyes stinging, when I realized that my sunglasses were gone. Immediately my heart sank. They were an expensive prescription pair.


A full-on search began. Family scoured the choppy waves and beach. We prayed. At first I thought there might be a chance, but as the minutes ticked on..10...15...it became clear that our search was in vain. I stood ankle deep in the murky water not able to even see the bottom...so much for the name Clear Water.


In my heart I spoke again to God as I stared into the surf at my feet, "It's been too long. I know that you can do anything, but I don't have hope anymore of finding my glasses. I'm going to stop looking."


At that moment, the Lord clearly spoke to my spirit, "When it looks like there is no hope-DO NOT GIVE UP HOPE. Keep hoping! Look up."


My eyes lifted to see my son, Corban, walking towards me wearing my sunglasses.


About a half mile down the shoreline, a relative had felt something bump against his leg twice. He reached down into the water to pull up my sunglasses. His name is Jeremiah which means "Uplifted by God."


Lenses of Hope


Later as I sat with the Lord, He began speaking to my spirit:


"Finding those glasses was easy for Me. They were never lost from My sight. It may seem like a needle in a haystack to you, but to Me it is nothing. I control the power of the sea. I lay bare its depths. Nothing is hidden from Me.


These glasses are a sign to you. They are a symbol of hope. When you wear your SON-Glasses, you are to remember to LOOK UP. Look through lenses of hope.

Just when you feel all hope is lost, wait for it, for it will surely come. I am calling you to walk by faith and not by sight."


I had the sense God was saying that though in the natural it appears that nothing is shifting or changing, He is doing so much behind the scenes and in the supernatural that we can’t see. Our eyes must stay fixed on Jesus who is our hope.


Specifically, I felt the Lord wanted me to share this now as an encouragement to your heart. This sign was not just for me. I feel Jesus is asking in this hour....


"Where are your eyes focused? What are you looking at? Are the cloudy waves of your circumstances or feelings of discouragement drawing your attention? Whom are you beholding?"


When it seems like there is no hope...put on your SON-Glasses and Look Up.


"Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God's inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us." -Hebrews 6: 18b-20a

By Deborah Valentine

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page